Learning Iqra 2

One biggest challenge for us when asking my son to play (read) Iqra is when his mood is down or he is not willing to do it.

I’ll just drop silent a second or two to think of a way. He’s probably asking himself why he should read but it has not come up, yet. I keep telling him that I love reading Quran because it is the words of God brought by our Prophet SAW, Muhammad.  I also tell him that playing (learning) Iqra is the door or first step towards understanding it. I mentioned that when reading it, even when we do not understand it, tranquility encompasses, a peace of mind is attained.

So far, that’s what I can say to persuade him to play (learn) Iqra. Last night, when I saw that his bad mood was about to come, I immediately ask him whether he wants to write, to read, to sing or just to listen. I brought color markers, papers, scissors. He said he just wanted to listen.

All right, then. I did not want to make him read and do the things he did not want to. Then, Al -Asr was his choice. It is about the time. Then I remember there’s a very nice song from Raihan, Malaysian artists singing about the meaning of the surah. The title of the song is Demi Masa (The Declining Day).

1. By (the Token of) Time (through the ages),

2. Verily Man is in loss,

3. Except such as have Faith, and do righteous deeds, and (join together) in the mutual teaching of Truth, and of Patience and Constancy.

I sang the song and brought him the Quran and we read the Surah together. After that, we played a game: I recite some parts of the words and let him find them. ‘There were two same words,’ he said. ‘So, where are they?’ I asked. He pointed me the words.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

